Advertisement

Mario Kart Phone App Launch Delayed, As Players Revolt In Anger

The highly-anticipated launch of the phone game Mario Kart Tour has left players with stalled engines, with the game currently under maintenance and sitting at a red light.

Thousands of people across the world have been waiting since January 2018 to get their hands on the game -- a free-to-play version of Nintendo's massively popular Mario Kart video game, available on iPhone and Android devices.

Think racing through the virtual streets of New York City, dodging banana peels and green shells your "friends" have launched at you, all from the comfort of your mobile phone.

Mario Kart Tour finally went live on Wednesday, but players were greeted with a "currently under maintenance" error message.

Picture: provided

Depending on where in the world you're playing from, the game will ready to go at different times.

For Australian users, the message says the maintenance period will end at 7pm on Wednesday.

READ MOREPeople Are Extremely Mad The Sims 4 Is Now Free

READ MOREEsport Stars Making A Fortune Playing Video Games In Their Bedrooms

On the game's official Twitter account, it was announced the game is scheduled to become playable around 1am Pacific Time and 10am Central European Summer Time.

"The game launch timing may be mistakenly shown in-game for some players. This should correctly be around 1 am PT (8am UTC)," another Tweet added.

Users took to the social media to vent their frustration with the delay, many staying awake to be among the first to hit the track.