Nick Kyrgios Just Found A Sneaky New Way To Chuck A Huge Tanty
Even by Nick Kyrgios' standards, this was one heck of an ugly day out.
As he skullked off the court having lost -- no, let's be real here, having thrown away -- his match against Russian Karen Khachanov at the Cincinatti Masters, Kyrgios uttered one last obscenity, one of dozens he'd unleashed on this day.
"You're A f--cken tool, bro," he hissed, in a comment which appeared to be directed at chair umpire Fergus Murphy.
Kyrgios and Murphy have a long history of bad blood. Oh let's be honest again, there's bad blood between Kyrgios and virtually all umpires.
But Irish umpire Murphy and Kyrgios have clashed several times -- Kyrgios didn't shake his hand after a match just two weeks ago -- and it didn't take long for tensions to rise today.
The conflict was all about the clock between points, and how little time Kyrgios thought he was being given to get ready to serve. The further details are irrelevant.
What's really important is the awful way Kyrgios responded, how it set off that little angry bell in his head. And when that angry bell ding-a-lings, you just know you're in for a rough ride.
"Unbelievable how this guy's still got a gig," Kyrgios said about the ref, in one of his more genteel outbursts.
"The worst ref in the game, every time I play he's doing some stupid sh-t," he said in a less polite comment.
Of course the 24-year-old Aussie eventually copped a code violation, and of course, he was eventually penalised a point.
At this perceived injustice he yelled "f--ken bullsh-t!" -- because also of course.
So much weirdness came after that. Where do you begin? The commentators had a similar dilemma.
"I've seen a few crazy Nick Kyrgios matches in my time, but this was up there with the best of them... or the worst, whichever way you want to look at it," one said.
Anyway, the really weird bit was when Kyrgios called for a bathroom break -- let's be clear, he needed that break like Ferris Bueller needed a day off school to study for a math test -- and then used the "break" to smash racquets.
It seemed Kyrgios was all too aware of the rules which state:
"Players shall not violently or dangerously hit, kick or throw a racquet within the precinct of the tournament site."
So cleverly, to avoid further sanction including being docked a whole game, he snuck off and smashed two racquets in a corridor, as you can see in the video at the top of this story.
The irony of that is that he soon lost interest in the match, and went and threw away a whole lot of games anyway. After winning the first set and looking in command at one stage, Kyrgios lost the match 7-6 6-7 2-6.
"The one thing I will say is the mental fortitude and composure was very impressive," a commentator said of Khachanov, who did indeed ignore Kyrgios with consummate professionalism.
Kyrgios' mental fortitude and composure? Uh, not so much.
Anyway, at least one mock Twitter account could laugh.