State Of Origin: Surprising Switch In Queensland Maroons Team

Well, that was a shock!

Queensland has named its State of Origin team to take on title-holders New South Wales in game one in Brisbane on June 5.

One surprise is Wests Tigers fullback Moses Mbye, who has been selected as a utility player on the bench. The TIgers skipper is one of three Qld debutants, alongside Joe Ofahengaue and David Fifita.

Many had expected Cowboys star Michael Morgan to fill the utility role, but he has instead been named out-of-position in the centres.

MBye has been hot-and-cold for the Tigers, but has been picked for his versatility

Morgan has an interesting history as a State of Origin centre.

He had never played in that position at NRL level, yet was picked there for the third game of the 2017 State of Origin series. He played well, as Queensland beat the Blues 22-6, to seal a 2-1 series win.

Whether the move pays off again remains to be seen.

(Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Meanwhile the halves combination of Daly Cherry-Evans and Cameron Munster was in line with most people's expectations.

Queensland coach Kevin Walters will formally announce the 2019 captain at Monday night’s Maroons Series Launch dinner in Brisbane. That player will become Queensland's 15th Origin captain.

The  team is as follows:

1. Kalyn Ponga 2. Corey Oates 3. Michael Morgan 4. Will Chambers 5. Dane Gagai 6. Cameron Munster 7. Daly Cherry-Evans 8. Jai Arrow 9. Ben Hunt 10. Josh Papalii 11. Felise Kaufusi 12. Matt Gillett 13. Josh McGuire 14. Moses Mbye 15. Joe Ofahengaue 16. Dylan Napa 17. David Fifita 18. Tim Glasby

READ MORE: Five New Faces And A Major Surprise In NSW Origin Team

More to come.