Five New Faces And A Major Surprise In NSW Origin Team

Wow. Who saw that coming?

NSW State of Origin coach Brad Fittler has revealed the team that will defend the Blues' Origin title in the first game in Brisbane on June 5.

All week, the biggest conjecture was over the halves pairing of Nathan Cleary and James Maloney, with both Panthers below par to date in 2019.

Nathan Cleary did just enough to retain his spot, but the number six jersey of Maloney has been taken by in-form Rabbitoh Cody Walker.

The other major surprise is the return of centre Josh Morris who had retired from representative footy.

The Blues will take five debutants to Suncorp Stadium. They are Walker, Payne Haas, South Sydney lock Cameron Murray, and Canberra duo Jack Wighton and Nick Cotric.

NSW team for Origin I

1. James Tedesco

2. Nick Cotric

3. Latrell Mitchell

4. Josh Morris

5. Josh Addo-Carr

6. Cody Walker

7. Nathan Cleary

8. David Klemmer

9. Damien Cook

10. Paul Vaughan

11. Boyd Cordner

12. Tyson Frizell

13. Jake Trbojevic


14. Jack Wighton

15. Payne Haas

16. Cameron Murray

17. Angus Crichton

Reactions to the team were generally positive, with fans acknowledging the Blues game one side is strong.

Fans also Tweeted their congratulations to their favourite players.