Toby Price Wins Second Dakar Rally While Riding With Broken Wrist

Australian Toby Price has won his second Dakar Rally motorcycle title, while Qatar's Nasser Al-Attiyah claiming his third title in the main car category.

Price broke the scaphoid bone in his right wrist weeks before the race and thought he would endure two stages then pull out, but support and luck kept him going in Peru.

He came to the 10th and last stage on Thursday after racing almost 5200km with only one minute's lead over rival Pablo Quintanilla.

Then just 10km into the dune-heavy, 112km course from Pisco to Lima, the Chilean rider fell off his bike and injured his foot.

Price broke his wrist just weeks before the race. Image: Facebook/ Toby Price Racing.

After Quintanilla crashed, the 2016 champion went for broke to take the overall lead.

"The pain and torture has been worth it," Price said.

"(The pain) feels like there are about five people driving a knife in my wrist. It's not very comfortable, it's not very enjoyable.

"It's very crazy to sit here and say that we won the Dakar Rally with no stage victories until today. It's really crazy. I'm over the moon."

It is Price's second title and he also finished third in 2015 and 2018.

READ MORE: Australian Racing Legend Craig Lowndes Calls Time On Full-Time Career

READ MORE: Australian Racing Legend Bob Jane Dead At 88

With Quintanilla's chances of winning a maiden Dakar title evaporating instantly, the Chilean got back on his Husqvarna to try and save a podium place.

But he lost 19 minutes though and dropped to fourth overall.

Price was thrilled with the win, celebrating with his broken wrist and all. Image: Getty Images.

Spainiard Nani Roma, who won two motorbike titles before switching to four wheels in 2005, was second after a busier-than-usual year of rallying to rebound from crashing out early in the Dakar last year.

Sebastien Loeb, who was in title contention until electrical problems on Monday, was third at his fourth Dakar.

Meanwhile, in the main car category Al-Attiyah could sit back and play it safe thanks to a 51-minute overall lead.

He let others race for the stage win, which went to Carlos Sainz, last year's champion.

Price celebrating with his broken wrist. Image: Getty Images.

Al-Attiyah rolled in nine minutes later in his Toyota, and finished 46 minutes ahead of Nani Roma, the 2014 champion.

Runner-up to Sainz last year, Al-Attiyah regained the title he earned in 2011 and 2015, when the Qatari also won with French co-driver Mathieu Baumel.

"It's fantastic, no mistakes," Al-Attiyah said.

"The good thing was that from day three we were leading and we built on our time every day until we came to the last day with a big, big lead. We felt that a 100 per cent Peru rally, with no other country, there would be a lot of sand dunes, so we could do what we know we're good at."

Russian Eduard Nikolaev secured his third successive Dakar title, and fourth in total, in the truck category with Kamaz.

Featured Image: Getty Images.