Reynolds Pips Whincup To Bathurst 1000 Pole In Less Than The Time Of A Blink

Oh man, that was close. Less than a hundredth of a second.

Reigning Bathurst 1000 champion David Reynolds has won the Top 10 Shootout at Mount Panorama and will start on pole position in tomorrow's race.

But he only beat four-time Bathurst winner Jamie Whincup by the slimmest margin. Nine one thousandths of a second (0.009), to be exact. A blink literally takes 10 times as long.

Reynolds started second-last in the Shootout and hurled his Commodore around the Mountain in fading light, chasing surprise leader and Erebus Motorsport teammate Anton de Pasquale, who had posted a time of 2:04.3498.

No one had come close to de Pasquale until Reynolds stepped up. The 33-year-old champ registered a lap of 2:04.0589 to lead clearly.

READ MORE: Not Spewing On The Final Lap Was Priority For Bathurst Winner

Earlier, de Pasquale, in his first year of Supercars, made the most of his Bathurst Shootout debut, setting the early pace with a sizzling lap of 2:04.3498 seconds.

Cameron Waters got up close and personal with the wall but couldn't quite overhaul the early leader.

Supercars Championship leader Shane van Gisbergen looked fast but the Kiwi also just fell short of de Pasquale and said he "didn't quite get it right". He'll have another 161 laps to do just that tomorrow.

Scott McLaughlin couldn't repeat his heroics of 2017 when he set the Mount Panorama lap record. He ended up fourth-fastest after his lap of 2:04.5494.

READ MORE: Buckle Up And Watch These Bathurst Boys Commentate Their Epic Victories

After McLaughlin it was time for Reynolds to cut loose, and last year's winner showed he is probably the man to beat again this year.

Whincup got close. Really close. Ridiculously close. But not quite close enough. He'll start second on the grid, with de Pasquale third.

"I'm just ecstatic my young teammate did a pretty amazing time," Reynolds said afterwards.

"I couldn't let him beat me."


Don't miss a minute of The Great Race on Ten and ten daily.

Channel 10 will have live coverage 7.30am - 6pm Sunday.

And Mount Blogorama will be live here on ten daily on Sunday from 10am until after the chequered flag, brought to you by two men with checkered pasts in the form of sports editor Ant Sharwood and deputy editor Chris Harrison.