Australia Wins 15th Hockey Champions Trophy

The Kookaburras defeated India to secure the victory.

What you need to know
  • The Australian men's Hockey team have won their 15th Champions Trophy
  • The decider against India was extremely close and went to a penalty shootout
  • The Kookaburras are set to defend their world title at the World Cup in November

The Australian men's hockey team have triumphed in the Netherlands, winning a nailbiting extra-time final against India to claim their 15th Champions Trophy.

In fact, the match was too close to be decided in regular time -- the teams were tied 1-1 at full-time. Australia managed to get the better of India in the shootouts, scoring 3-2 for the win.

Ranked number one in the world, Australia was thrilled to have secured another title, especially after such a tough match.

Australia have won their 15th Champions Trophy. Image: Getty Images.

“It’s a nice win for us. It was a tough game and India played really well. We started well and then lost the momentum when India scrambled back into the game. It was a pretty tight affair in the second half so for us to defend as well as we did was impressive,” head coach Colin Batch said.

The Champions Trophy is contested by the six top-ranked teams in the world each year.

In 2018, Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany and India played in the round robin competition. Australia and India emerged the top two after a round and so progressed to the final.

The match against India went to penalty shootouts. Image: Getty Images.

The Kookaburras are also the 2014 World Cup champions and took home gold at the recent Commonwealth Games in April. All eyes turn now to the men's Hockey World Cup In November, where Australia will aim to defend their title.