Every MP Who Voted Against Decriminalising Abortion In NSW

NSW MPs have voted overwhelmingly to decriminalise abortion in the state, though the impassioned debate has divided senior Liberals.

The amended bill, to remove abortion from the state's criminal code and instead place it into an appropriate healthcare framework, passed the lower house late on Thursday night.

After three days of heated debate and several amendments, the division bells rang as MPs voted in favour of the bill -- a conscience vote for both major parties -- 59 to 31.

But many Liberal Party's MPs were in the opposing camp.

Premier Gladys Berejkilian voted for the bill, along with Health Minister Brad Hazzard, one of its 15 co-sponsors.

But several senior colleagues voted against the bill, including Attorney-General Mark Speakman, Treasurer Dominic Perrotet,  Planning Minister Rob Stokes and Police Minister David Elliot.

Perrotet, who spoke "on behalf of those who cannot speak for themselves", said supporters of the bill were on the wrong side of history, while Elliot said the proposed legislation has been "ill-timed" and "ill-thought-out".

The Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019, introduced by Sydney MP Alex Greenwich, allows terminations up to 22 weeks, as well as abortions at later stages if two doctors agree the termination should be performed under the circumstances.

It was amended after significant debate to include safeguards around informed consent and provisions around conscientious objection by medical practitioners.

The proposed laws will now go before the Parliament's social issues committee next week, then the upper house for further debate.

READ MORE: NSW Abortion Bill Passes Lower House

READ MORE: Experts Slam 'Insulting' Misinformation About Abortion Decriminalisation Bill

In the meantime, here's a full list of the MPs who voted against the bill:

L-R: Mark Speakman, Tanya Davies, Rob Stokes, Kevin Connolly, Joe McGirr Photo:s: AAP

Mark Speakman (Attorney-General, Minister for Prevention of Domestic Violence)

Dominic Perrotet  (Treasurer)

Rob Stokes (Liberal MP, Planning Minister)

David Elliot (Police Minister)

John Sidoti (Minister for Sport, Multiculturalism, Seniors and Veterans)

Anthony Roberts (Minister for Counter Terrorism and Corrections)

Geoffrey Lee (Minister for Skills and Tertiary Education)

Kevin Connolly (Liberal MP)

Tanya  Davies (Liberal MP)

Wendy Lindsay (Liberal MP)

Melanie Gibbons (Liberal MP)

Nathaniel Smith (Liberal MP)

Peter Sidgreaves (Liberal MP)

Robyn Preston (Liberal MP)

Mark Taylor (Liberal MP)

Wendy Tuckerman (Liberal MP)

Gabrielle Upton (Liberal MP)

Raymond Williams (Liberal MP)

Eleni Petinos (Liberal MP)

Stephen Bromhead (Nationals MP)

Michael Johnsen (Nationals MP)

Edmond Atalla (Labor MP)

Stephen Louis Bali (Labor MP)

Jihad Dib (Labor MP)

Julia Finn (Labor MP)

Stephen Kamper (Labor MP)

Nick Lalich (Labor MP)

Hugh McDermott (Labor MP)

Tania Mihailuk (Labor MP)

Guy Zangari (Labor MP)

Joe McGirr (Independent)

Featured image: AAP