Bill Shorten's Role In Anthony Albanese's New-Look Shadow Cabinet

Labor Leader Anthony Albanese has announced his shiny new front bench and it's not without some surprises. 

Albanese confirmed who will make up his shadow cabinet last week, but didn't reveal their portfolios.

He said former Labor Leader Bill Shorten would serve on the front bench and named former NSW Premier Kristina Keneally as deputy Senate leader under Penny Wong.

Shorten was on Sunday handed Shadow Minister for National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) and Government Services.

"This is the right job for Bill Shorten. He looks forward to it with enthusiasm and he will do the job well. He is an important part of our team," Albanese told media on Sunday.

Anthony Albanese
Photo: Getty Images.

Tanya Plibersek will take on education and training while Keneally will be Labor's first spokeswoman for home affairs on top of her role as deputy Senate leader.

READ MORE: Albo Is Officially Labor Leader After Every Other Contender Dropped Out

READ MORE: 'They Got What They Wanted': Shorten Lays Blame Over Election Defeat

Here's who will work with Albo against newly-elected Prime Minister Scott Morrison in the Shadow Ministry.

"This team has both the talent and experience to hold the Morrison Government to account," Albanese.

Kristina Keneally has got a promotion to the federal Labor frontbench. Image: AAP

The Shadow Cabinet is made up of 12 men and 12 women.

"There will be 12 men and 12 women sitting around the shadow Cabinet table. They are all there on merit. 12 men and 12 women reflecting the balance in Australian society."

Many of the former Labor heavy-weights appeared in the cabinet, some taking on new roles and others remains with their older portfolios.

Bill Shorten: Shadow Minister for the NDIS and Government Services

Penny Wong: Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs

Chris Bowen: Shadow Minister for Health

Tanya Pilbersek: Shadow Minister for Education

Jim Chalmers: Shadow Treasurer

Chris Bowen becomes Shadow Health Minister. Photo: AAP.

Four new people were named as part of the Shadow Cabinet.

Kristina Keneally: Shadow Minister for Home Affairs and Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship.

Katy Gallagher: Shadow Minister for Finance, Public Service and Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate

Terri Butler: Shadow Minister for Environment and Water Minister

Madeleine King: Shadow Minister for Trade

Other significant announcements include:

Richard Males: Shadow Defence Minister

Andrew Leigh: Shadow Assistant Minister for the Treasury and Charities.

The first Shadow Ministry meeting will take place on Tuesday in Brisbane.

Contact Siobhan at