Advertisement

Apple Urges Aussie iPhone Users To Watch Out For Shady Apps

Apple has released its latest iPhone software early and has urged users to be vigilant about what apps they download as they might be accessing your phone without your permission. 

The tech giant recently discovered a bug in iOS 13 and iPadOS which can allow third-party keyboard apps to get full access of your phone, without your permission.

The issue does not affect Apple's own keyboards.

The tech giant said in a statement: "Third-party keyboard extensions in iOS can be designed to run entirely standalone, without access to external services, or they can request “full access” to provide additional features through network access.

"An upcoming software update will fix an issue that impacts third-party keyboard apps. This issue applies only if you've installed third-party keyboards on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch."

iPhone users have been urged to update their phones to the latest OS 13.1. Image: AAP

To see if you have a third-party keyboard installed on your phone open the 'settings' app, go to 'general' then 'keyboard' then 'keyboards'.

Keyboards with full access can send your data to online, this could potentially include emails, messages or passwords.

Popular third-party apps include Google's Gboard, Microsoft-owned SwiftKey and Grammarly.

Today Apple rolled out iOS 13.1 which aims to fix a few issues that users had when they updated their phone to iOS 13.0 (released on September 19). Those issues include crashing apps, phone signal and camera problems.

READ MOREThe 10 Best Photos Shot On iPhones Around The World

The company is rushing to also roll out a fix to the third-party keyboard issue, so users can expect that very soon.

Reasons To Upgrade Your iPhone

iOS 13 released last week finally introduced users to 'Dark Mode' - a low light setting, major photo editing upgrades, a new swipe keyboard,  tweaks to Siri and more.

One of the most applauded changes is the ability to stop unknown callers from ringing your phone. A new feature now allows users to only allow calls to come through if their number is already in your contact list or email. The rest go to voicemail.

Another praised change is the volume indicator that took over the screen when you turn up a video is now gone.

Apple has also introduced a new, more private way to sign into apps and websites.  Instead of using a social account or filling out forms, verifying email addresses or choosing passwords, users can now use their Apple ID to sign in.