Emotional Missy Elliott Is First Female Rapper Inducted Into Songwriters Hall Of Fame

Missy Elliott has become just the third rapper to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame, and the ceremony brought her to tears.

Missy Elliott has felt the love from her musical sisters as she became the first female rapper inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Queen Latifah - a Grammy, Emmy and Golden Globe winner - inducted Elliott with kind words as she paid homage to their long-lasting friendship. And even former first lady Michelle Obama took her turn to say how much of a Missy Elliott fan she is.

Image: AAP

"Missy, I want to thank you for all of your trailblazing ways," Obama said in a taped video that aired during the event on Thursday in New York.

"Thank you not for just sharing your gift with the world, but for being an advocate for so many people out there, especially young girls who are still figuring out how to make their voices heard."It all brought Elliott to tears: Near the end of her 10-minute speech, the Grammy winner broke down after telling funny and deep stories about how her creative mind worked as a child.

Missy Elliott performs live on day 4 of Bestival 2015, Robin Hill Country Park - Isle of Wight. Image: AAP

"I am thankful," she said, pausing for a few seconds.

"Every time I come up to a podium even with all the work that I've done, I don't know, and I'm assuming it's just God, I don't know why I am here," she said with tears in her eyes as the audience erupted with cheers and applause.

READ MORE: Rapper, Flautist And Bona Fide Badass Lizzo Wants To Normalise Butt Dimples And Stretch Marks

"I want to say one thing to the writers, to the upcoming writers, 'Do not give up.' We all go through writer's block. Sometimes you just have to walk away from a record and come back to it. But don't give up because I'm standing here. And this is big for hip-hop, too."

Elliott is just the third rapper to enter into the Songwriters Hall, following Jay-Z and Jermaine Dupri's inductions in 2017 and 2018, respectively.