U2 Are Bringing Their Joshua Tree Tour To Australia In November 2019

It will be the first Aussie tour for the band in nine years.

U2 have today announced that they'll be bringing their acclaimed Joshua Tree Tour to New Zealand, Australia, Japan, Singapore and South Korea later this year for a string of stadium shows.

The first of the Aussie concerts will kick off at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium on November 12 and will mark their first concerts in Australia since 2010 for their record-shattering 360 tour.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have also been announced as the tour's support act, with Gallagher saying, “We, NGHFB, are beside ourselves. The Joshua Tree 2017 Tour was some of the most fun we ever had. It will be both an honour and a pleasure to share the stage with our friends and comrades once again. It’s gonna be a ripper!!!!!”.

READ MORE: Mick Jagger Forced To Postpone Rolling Stones Tour For Medical Treatment

U2's frontman added, “It’s only taken me 30 years to learn how to sing these songs and it’s great to be able to say that I’ve finally caught up with the band. Our audience has given the Joshua Tree a whole new life on this tour. Doing these shows has been very special for us, a lot of emotion… From the despair of how relevant some of the dark songs still are, to the joy, pure fun of the staging… it’s quite a ride."

He continued, "And now we get to do it all over again. Auckland, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Sydney, Tokyo, Singapore, Seoul… We’re coming for you”.

READ MORE: Spice Girls Share Rehearsal Snaps In Preparation For Reunion Tour

Image: Supplied

“We really, REALLY wanted to bring The Joshua Tree to New Zealand, Australia and Asia” added David Evans -- aka The Edge. “We promised we would and finally, now we can say that we will see you in November... It’s going to feel like a homecoming and we are very excited”.

Tickets for U2's Australian shows go on sale on June  11 2019, with subscribers getting the first opportunity to purchase tickets starting June 4-6.

Australia Tour Dates 2019:

08 November Auckland, NZ Mt. Smart Stadium

12 November Brisbane, AU Suncorp Stadium

15 November Melbourne, AU Marvel Stadium

19 November Adelaide, AU Adelaide Oval

22 November Sydney, AU Sydney Cricket Ground

27 November Perth, AU Optus Stadium

Image: Getty